Now the rest of the testimony……

When I originally wrote this blog, I did not share my entire testimony. There are things I haven’t shared in this life with even my best friends. God has truly tested my spirit and still does today, but it has made me humble and the man I am today. Some of this you have read, but I have added more to reflect my entire testimony.
Prior to accepting Christ, I was a kid who ran around, stirring up trouble anywhere I could. I was unhappy; I was the fat kid on campus and kids made sure I was aware of it and that dug deep into my heart. To make matters worse, I was just bored with life and had no real direction.  Every summer, I would attend as many VBS programs as possible, mainly for the free snacks and to play the games. I was twelve during my last year at VBS at First Baptist Church of Dixon, Kentucky. It was called “Open Windows” and I can still sing part of the main song:

“Big windows, little windows

Windows of all kinds

God has windows all over the world that we should recognize”

On the last day, some time in July, they had a commencement ceremony and the pastor shared the Gospel. I had heard the Gospel several times before and never really cared, but that day something was different. I knew something was wrong so I stepped out. I remember walking to the front and the pastor sat me down and made the situation clear to me, and then I accepted Christ. Following my parents’ divorce, I was in the eighth grade when my mom moved us to the Louisville, Kentucky area, where my backslide started. I had no idea how to find a church and my mom wasn’t even interested in going at that time. So, I found other things to fill the time, and they were not godly. In high school, my mother was seeing an abusive man. She, my brother, and I were physically abused by him. By the time I was twenty-one, I was drinking and running around dance clubs. My mom began dating a different man, but he was no better than the last. Instead of abusing us he brought drugs into our home, spent all of our money, and ran the family name into the ground. Then God appointed my best friend, Josh Duncan, to intervene in my life. I was twenty-four at the time and over the next six months Josh annoyed me to death about coming to church. I finally caved in and went to church with him and it was like fresh water came over me and everything started to change. The next thing I knew, I was getting baptized and working diligently in the youth group. Currently, I am also the middle school Sunday school teacher and participate in several other ministries. You know, people will read this and think, “Oh, that’s horrible.” I look back and think, “Yes, it was horrible, but because of my past I now have a deeper trust, devotion, and faith in my God.” I realize I might have been away from Him, but He was right there preparing me for the rest of my life. If it wasn’t for my past, I wouldn’t be who I am today.

Edited by Jamie Calhoun

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Personal Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

