Sovereignty of God

2012 was a year of change for me. I was forced to grow up, my family moved away, and other stuff. But on day one of 2013, God in all his sovereignty had battled tested my heart, prepared me for one moment. cliff hanger.

Anyways God says in Proverbs 3:5-6 that we need to trust him with all his heart and not lean on your own understanding. In 2012 God tested that trust, he pushed me to my utter limits in fact. I tried to understand the purpose but could not. I had to lean on God and trust him.

He reminds us in six to acknowledge Him, in the good, the bad, and the ugly. I praise God because the fact that the day my parents left I had an apartment, the fact that I had my church family to love on me to be there for me during the tough times and the good times. To God be the glory and honor and praise.

And finally he will make your paths straight. God has a purpose for every trial in life. He has a plan for everything that happens in this world that will in the end glorify him. A lot of times you can’t see it because you are to busy focusing on the trial and not the redemption at the end of the path. You may even get off the path because of the trial and fall into sin. But God is the great redeemer and will make your path straight.

To pick up with that cliff hanger, God put me through all this because he was preparing me for something. For what during 2012 I did not know, but on the first day of 2013 he opened the door at the end of the trial. Standing in that door was the one of the most amazing godly women I know. Now that her and myself are in a relationship, I will trust God in what he will do with us, I will not lean on my own understanding if and when we hit rough patches, I will praise God for her daily, and finally I will allow God to make our path straight so we can follow God together.

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sovereignty of God

  1. Pingback: Living our life like God is sovereign | Walking with Christ Daily

Leave a Reply

