A chat with God

On Monday mornings I have a simple routine, get up at 4 am and go to work.Put away the truck, clean up, and go home. Anyways this week has been a pretty awesome week, in fact more than awesome. Long did I realize the idea that even though yesterday was amazing, I failed to honor God by mouth. Yes I worshiped through songs and amen during the sermon.  But as people were talking to my girlfriend and myself about our new relationship, I never once brought up Gods sovereignty. I never said thanks or praise be to God. Instead I said a bunch of I’s, Me, Us, and We. I never once gave God credit at church for the great thing He had done. That leads me to the cooler this morning, The cooler is a 40 degrees on a regular basis, and its a quiet place except for the fans. I was putting away the stock when I thought how did I honor God yesterday? I thought through the day and finally I realized all those people I talked to I never mentioned how God used a friend to intervene and show me what I was missing. That he brought us together at the perfect moment in his perfect timing. All this stuff I missed. I started thinking about Israel and how God gave them all these gifts during the books of Joshua. But they never gave God credit, they went and worshiped Idols. In all my excitement yesterday I had turned the relationship into an Idol. But  praise God, that he sent a great redeemer in His Son, and helper in the Holy Spirit. As the Holy Spirit reminded me and convicted me of my Sin, it pointed to repentance and to my redeemer in Christ. In pure honesty I was reminded that I’m still being conformed day by day to the Image of Christ. And that I’m so thankful for the woman He put into my life and his Sovereign plan to do so. That I have no reason to boast because had it not been for God, I may have never asked her out. Thus my God is great and His will shall be carried out, even through our weakness.

“Like clouds and wind without rain is a man who boasts of a gift he does not give.”
Proverbs 25:14

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

