The Perryville effect

Cannon on the Bloody Hill

 

Today I was at the Perryville Kentucky Battlefield state park. While there me and my friend went up to see some cannon on a hill that over looked most of the battlefield. Just a simple walk through a battlefield. As I was looking at the field and the cannon, My friend called me over to a information panel. On this panel it described that during the battle, the fight became so intense on this hill that the hill was slick with Blood. This was no small hill what so ever. As we left the thought of the young men that charged that hill only to be struck down came to mind. They were here sacrificing their lives for a cause. It made me think of their families/girlfriends back home who would never see them again. Being as I have discovered the most amazing biblical women that is my Girlfriend, I of teared up at the idea of never seeing her again. Then the idea came to my head about loving her as Christ loved the church. These men sacrificed everything for what they believed was right and was best for their families and girlfriends. Jesus sacrificed everything for what was needed for his people. Could I be as sacrificial. Now am I thinking about charging a hill some where with rampant gun fire on me. By no means. But am I willing to be sacrificial towards my girlfriend and hopefully God willing future wife.  Can I do what needs to be done to love her as Christ loved the church. That is the Perryville effect. A simple monument brings me back to Christ, and to the sacrifices I should make as his follower and a Godly man. Finally it made my feelings for my Girlfriend deeper. Because there could be a day I never get to see her again. (tear) Just some thoughts from the day. But is it not crazy how God works.

Ephesians 5:25-33

English Standard Version (ESV)

25 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, 26 that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, 27 so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.[a] 28 In the same way husbands should love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29 For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church, 30 because we are members of his body.31 “Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.”32 This mystery is profound, and I am saying that it refers to Christ and the church. 33 However, let each one of you love his wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.

 

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Personal Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

