The challenge ahead Part 1

Very soon in the near future I will not only be the leader of my wife but my daughter. Being a husband and being held accountable for your wife and yourself by God is a scary thing, but now add on the fact that I am accountable for my daughter as well to God. Well lets say the challenge looms. So as a father what am I call to do.

Just looking at Deuteronomy chapter 6:1-25 you see an outline for a lot of the fathers spiritual duties. Lets take a look at this passage in sections.

“Now this is the commandment—the statutes and the rules—that the LORD your God commanded me to teach you, that you may do them in the land to which you are going over, to possess it, that you may fear the LORD your God, you and your son and your son’s son, by keeping all his statutes and his commandments, which I command you, all the days of your life, and that your days may be long. Hear therefore, O Israel, and be careful to do them, that it may go well with you, and that you may multiply greatly, as the LORD, the God of your fathers, has promised you, in a land flowing with milk and honey.
(Deuteronomy 6:1-3 ESV).

Simply put as a father I am to teach my daughter of everything that God commands me to. Of all his laws and especially the Gospel. The idea that me teaching my child is a testament of spiritual leadership of my family is almost bone chilling.  Its that idea that should make you question are you ready to be a father or a husband.  Just a random thought of the day.

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

