Worth Dying For?

The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost.
 1st Timothy 1:15

I am a liar, a thief, a murderer, a idolater. I am a sinner. I have fallen short of God’s glory time and time again. Before I was saved, when I was in church the hardest thing to grasp was that someone could die for me. That a Father could sacrifice His Son for me. Am I worth that. There is no way that I’m worth that I would tell myself. I did not deserve what was being offered. What is crazy is that last statement was true.

23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,
Romans 3:23

I did not deserve God’s mercy. I did not deserve salvation. I deserved hell. I deserved the punishment that Jesus had taken for me on the cross. I deserved the pain and torture. It came from a straight calling from God that he softened the heart of a 12 year old boy at Vacation Bible School in Dixon Kentucky. God made me realize that I didn’t deserve it, but because He loved me soooooo much that He was extending His mercy to me. That He was fulfilling His covenant to call sinners to Himself. That this had been written since the beginning of time that He would call me to Himself and that He had a purpose for my life that was beyond my understanding and sight. He had saved me for His glory and not my own because I could not save myself. I could not come to God willing because I was a sinner I would never choose God. God had to first come to me.

even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love
Ephesians 1:4

I want to end with this:

That we are all sinners before a Holy God
We all deserve Hell, But God sent His Son to die on a cross, rise from the grave, and now sits at the right hand of the father, all of this was done so we could be saved if we come to faith in Christ Jesus.

 

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Devotinal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

