Surrender Delayed, So Sorry

“Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness.”
Romans 6:13

I have this newspaper article from the end of world war 2, the headline states Japan Delays Surrender, So Sorry. This has had me thinking over the last several weeks simply about my life. Do I surrender to God? Do I give God the due respect that He deserves. Do I fear God? The simply answer is no. I’m a sinner, that is the reason that I needed a savior. What does the bible say though? What does God say about surrendering to Him. Why is it we won’t surrender everything to Him. God literally came to earth, lived a perfect, died a horrible death so that He could save me. Why is that not enough. Why do I want to hold on to these worldly chains? So what does God say about surrender?

24 Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. “”
Matthew 16:24

This verse kind of stands out of what God calls us to when we follow Him. Jesus simply says  deny yourself and take up your cross. The cross is the ultimate symbol of sacrifice to a christian. It is where Jesus died tortured, beaten, and bled. He calls us to deny ourselves and to sacrifice everything. If we do the first thing and deny our self which means giving up sinful things in our lives, things that we know that are interfering with our relationship with God. A few that I can think of is Social Media, I know I have a Facebook problem, I look at Facebook constantly. How about sports, I use to be a huge sports crazy, never missed a game. The reason I bring up these two is because everything that we allow to interfere in our relationship and worship of God is an idol. We may not think it is. I thought about social media and how much time I spend on it. Then I thought in contrast, how much time do I spend in prayer, God’s word, devotions, ect. It was hugely in favor of Facebook. Its crazy how a simple website can become something that distracts from God.

“The idols of the nations are silver and gold, the work of human hands. They have mouths, but do not speak; they have eyes, but do not see; they have ears, but do not hear, nor is there any breath in their mouths. Those who make them become like them, so do all who trust in them!”
Psalm 135:15-18

If you want evidence of social media and sports as idols, look at the world. People don’t talk face to face anymore, me message, post, and tag. We don’t dig into our bibles, because we are overly worried we might miss an important announcement on Facebook. Sports have taken over families. We keep our kids out of church so they can have sports. This is interfering in the growth of our children We have made idols of worldly things. We have refused to surrender ourselves fully to God. We have idols that we want to hold on to. Yours might not be the two I’ve listed. In the end we are sinners. We still feel that in a way we don’t need God. We don’t need God right now because I’m too busy on Facebook, I don’t need that bible study. My family does not need bible study because we have sports and that is more important than God. We are obsessed with a world that is dying and will fade away one day. We are too worried about worldly things. We are don’t want to fully surrender to God. So we say thank you for saving me, but I’m delaying my full surrender. I’m so sorry. So take some time and think about the balance in your life. See what are you making idols of and allowing to interfere in your relationship with God. I will tell you now I will be spending less time in on Facebook and more time reading and studying God’s word. Because Gods Word is good for teaching and reproach. It teaches and points out sins in our life. We should be diving deep. Learning it so we can take it to the world, and allowing God to work in our life.

As always thanks for reading. Keep the language clean and comments friendly.

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Devotinal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

