Waiting On God

17 When Abram was ninety-nine years old the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty;[a] walk before me, and beblameless, that I may make my covenant between me and you, andmay multiply you greatly.” Then Abram fell on his face. And God said to him, “Behold, my covenant is with you, and you shall be the father of a multitude of nations. No longer shall your name be called Abram,[b] butyour name shall be Abraham,[c] for I have made you the father of a multitude of nations. I will make you exceedingly fruitful, and I will make you into nations, and kings shall come from you. And I willestablish my covenant between me and you and your offspring after you throughout their generations for an everlasting covenant, to be God to you and to your offspring after you. And I will give to you and to your offspring after you the land of your sojournings, all the land of Canaan, for an everlasting possession, and I will be their God.”
Genesis 17:1-8

This morning while reading my devotional, it was looking at the faith of Abraham. At the point we are looking at Abraham is  99 years old. In this section God changes Abrams name to Abraham as he promises to make him the father of many nations. Abraham has been waiting all this time for God to bring him a heir. To fulfill his promise to Him, now God is adding to His promise but Abraham still needs an heir. This is were faith comes in.

Abraham is in a position where he is totally reliant on God’s grace. He has to have faith that God is going to fulfill His promise in God’s time. It had to be frustrating to be waiting and waiting, not hours or days, but years. Crazy right, now that is some faithful patience.

It made me exam my own life, how I know God has plans for me, but how I often want them now. Or for example I’m a member of a church plant, and I’m so ready to see God work in our community. At times I want God to move now. I want to see revival. I want to see the lost coming to Christ. That is when I have to remind myself that God has a plan. That His timing is perfect. That when He moves He moves mightily.   That when I’m trying to rush the God who created everything, am I truly having faith that God is going to fulfill His promise. We can’t make things happen, we can’t force the hand of God. Just like Abraham we have to rely on Gods grace and have faith that He will fulfill His promises. We are reminded of this in Hebrews 6:13-15

13 When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, 14 saying, “I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.”[a] 15 And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.

As always thanks for reading, feel free to leave prayer requests in the comments or message them to me.

 

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Devotinal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

