Days to be Christian

As I’ve been listening to the radio, I heard an announcement for the national day of prayer for the lost. My first thought was oh that’s interesting, but then I thought why do we need a national day of prayer for anything. Why are we not in prayer for the lost every day. Not only the people over seas but also in our communities. I understand the idea of a unified prayer, but we need a heart check in America, if we have to have a special day to remember to pray for the lost, then what are we praying for? We need a heart for the lost.

“To open their eyes, so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.” Acts 26:18

Brothers, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for them is that they may be saved.” Romans 10:1

Even Jesus prayed for us. Yes you and me!!!! We hadn’t even been born yet and Jesus was interceding for us. I mean that should tell us that praying for the lost and future believers should be just as or even more important than praying for the sick.  Because the lost are spiritually sick which ends with eternal separation from God.

20 “I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, 21 that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.22 The glory that you have given meI have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one, 23 I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me.”
John 17:20-23

I want to close with this, as I said before, the American Christian needs a heart change. We need a heart for the lost. We need to love our families, friends, coworkers, neighbors enough to share the Gospel with them.
As always thanks for reading.

About Jonathan Parrish

A man who fears and loves God in all that do, which is to bring him glory.
This entry was posted in Personal Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

